2014 Gubernatorial Election Guide: First Edition

2014

After a long month of research and effort, I present the Occam’s Razor Scooter Official 2014 Gubernatorial Election Guide. I went through each of the 36 elections and provided the major players and my analysis of their chances of winning.

The Republicans currently control 30 out of the 50 governorships in the country and by the looks of it they’re likely to retain their majority in 2014. However there are quite a few pick up chances for both parties, with many more races that could become competitive should the national political mood sway in one direction or another.

Adding to intrigue, several possible Republican 2016 presidential contenders are facing reelection. These are: Scott Walker of Wisconsin, Nikki Haley of South Carolina, Brian Sandoval of Nevada, and Susana Martinez of New Mexico. For the Democrats, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo may be using this campaign to set the stage for a presidential run 2016.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do about the house, since there’s no way I’m going through each of the 435 races one by one. I’ll probably focus in on the most competitive races. But even if I do that, I don’t expect to have anything up for at least another month. But before you all despair, I am doing an update on the Senate races and that should be out tomorrow. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

