Ex-Gov Elliot Spitzer to Run For NY Comptroller Against Madam Who Arranged His “Liasons” With Prostitutes

From the New York Post:

“Disgraced former Gov. Eliot Spitzer launched a political comeback last night with a surprise announcement that he’s running for City comptroller — and one of his opponents is the madam who used to arrange his affairs with hookers.

‘I hope people forgive me, and I hope they give me a second chance,’’ Spitzer, 54, told The Post, touting his experience as ‘attorney general and governor and assistant district attorney.'”

I remember that when I graduated from elementary school there was an “Elliot Spitzer Award” that was given out during the ceremony. Years later when I found my old graduation program, it was funny to see how far from grace Spitzer had fallen. And I’m pretty sure that at the time I thought of some good prostitute jokes as well.

My big question is why is he running for comptroller? It’s not exactly the most glamorous position, and it’s definitely a step down from governor. At least Anthony Weiner is shooting to be the mayor of the nation’s largest city, an office with much more power and prestige than a lowly back bench congressman. My thinking is that Spitzer sees being comptroller as a stepping stone to something. What that something could be is anyone’s guess.

The best part of this story is the fact that he’s running against the woman who helped put him out of office in the first place, Kristen Davis. I would love to see them on the same debate stage, with Davis constantly making cracks at Spitzer while he squirms at the podium. I’m not sure if the comptroller race has a debate, but I think in this case it would be worth it.

With Elliot Spitzer, Anthony Weiner, and Mark Sanford (who cheated on his wife with a woman from Argentina) all attempting (and in Sanford’s case succeeding) to regain political office, we can learn that there are second acts in American life. Sorry F. Scott Fitzgerald, but sometimes truth is stranger than fiction.

Leave a Reply

