Rain Dogs

As you may have noticed, I’m a dog person. To be honest, I’ve never really thought it about too much until this afternoon. I had a statistics class scheduled and I needed to turn in a problem set. However, the Chicago weather had a different idea in mind.

As soon as I walked out the front door of my building the sky opened up. With dogged determination, I walked all the way to the library so I could staple my work together. But by the time I got out of the rain, I was soaking wet. The worst part was that I knew that I had to walk out in the rain again to get to class.

I quickly stapled my work together, grabbed a free newspaper to use as a makeshift umbrella, and  stormed out into the rain. It was coming down even harder than before, and the newspaper quickly soaked up as much it could.

Well, I had enough. After cursing a bit, I ran into the nearest building I could find. And that’s when I saw the sign:

Comfort Dogs Today 1130-130

I walked into the room with the dogs, still drenched, and sat down beside one of them. I started scratching behind his ear, and immediately he looks up at me with those irresistible puppy dog eyes. His name was Yankee Doodle, and he single-handedly (or paw-dedly) made my day.

There was no way I was going to class.

I stayed with Yankee and the other dogs for about half an hour, and I could feel the stress melting away. By the time I stepped back outside, the downpour had been reduced to little more than a drizzle. I walked over to my professor’s office, handed in my work, and walked back to my apartment. It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

